Lots of Vegan Eats

I have been a little absent lately because I have been trying to accomplish things around the house before the school year starts again. I made the choice (mistake?) to begin stripping the kitchen cabinets so I can sand and repaint. I keep underestimating the amount of time things are going to take, so now I am kind of like please, please, let me get this done before school begins.

Anyway, just because I have been slaving around the house doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking up a vegan storm. Tomorrow is our one month anniversary of veganism, and I’m not quite sure exactly how to celebrate. I may just make a bomb ass vegan dessert… maybe a cake?

I feel this anniversary pretty deeply, because I feel like this is one of the best decisions I have ever made. I feel so good about this choice, and happy that I am able to make a positive impact on animal welfare and the environment but changing what I put in my mouth. I tested J by posing the following hypothetical: “If we broke up would you still be vegan?”

He didn’t even think about it before he said, “of course”. I was pleasantly surprised by his commitment. I think we both feel the positive changes this is making in our life. Even if I still have only lost ONE pound. Most likely because I have given up animal products I have not given up sweets.

oopsshrugchris-evans

So, I can’t blame veganism for this weight stale-mate. In other news, let’s get into some of the delicious food I’ve eaten recently.

Breakfast this morning: Turmeric Oatmeal

Yes, this oatmeal does look like Big Bird, but it tasted delicious.

Super easy to make. Just oatmeal, two chopped dates, 1 teaspoon of turmeric and a chopped banana to top!

 

Dinner Last Night: Kale Caesar Salad

Made this baby topped with:

  • sautéed red peppers and mushrooms (in veggie broth)
  • Ezekiel Bread Croutons (simple to make, just toss croutons with salt, pepper, veggie broth, parsley and bake at 400 for about 5 min, check often so they don’t burn)
  • Tempeh in peanut sauce (via minimalist baker)
  • Homemade fake Caesar Dressing, which was:
    • 1/4 cup silken tofu
    • brown spicy mustard
    • lemon juice
    • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
    • Honestly, I just kind of made this up, tasting and adjusting seasoning as necessary)

Tofu and Brocolli with Brown Rice

This awesome recipe came from minimalist baker as well, I believe. Super simple to make and delicious.

Have an awesome day 🙂

One comment

  1. Izzie's Kitchen · July 28

    Looks good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

