Day 20 πŸŽ‰

I can’t believe that J and I have hit day 20 of being veg-heads already. I haven’t posted in a few days, but you know I’ve been cooking.

My Minimalist Baker Cookbook came and I’ve been nomming my way through that baby, with a few of my own random things mixed in. Below are the meals I remembered to take pictures of (I am just to hungry to think sometimes!)

Stir Fry with Crispy Tofu

Can I just say that I am developing a real love for tofu. When you crisp it in the oven it just has such a good texture. I marinated it basically all day and because tofu is a sponge, it soaked up all the marinade and was ridiculously delicious.

 

This was my smoothie bowl to celebrate day 20. After continuing to readΒ How Not To Die I have been trying to follow the daily dozen that Greger came up with (great iphone app if you are interested, or check out the daily dozen here), so I included both Chia Seeds and Flaxseed in this smoothie bowl to help me tick off some boxes in the daily dozen.

Ingrediants:

  • Three handfuls of greens.
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 scoop vegan protein powder

DONE!

Below was tonight’s dinner. Again from Minimalist Baker, I adapted her Thai Sweet Potato Recipe. Her recipe didn’t include the kidney beans, but I opened a can during my lunch and figured, what the hell, throw it in the mix.

I also added the purple cabbage as another nod to Dr. Greger and his daily dozen. I don’t really eat as many of the cruciferous veggies as I should (broccoli and cauliflower just aren’t my go to mix ins, even though I like them) and I had this purple cabbage so I figured why not.

I cooked it over medium heat with enough vegetable broth to coat the bottom of the pan and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar. I wasn’t sure how it would go, but it added a really nice tangy flavor to cut the sweetness of the tahini sauce. I would give this one like 9 thumbs up if I had them.

I also skipped the extra seasoning of the legumes and just cooked them with a little garlic powder in veggie broth. I figured why add extra flavor on them when I have the tahini sauce. Honestly, I didn’t miss the seasoning on them.


I have really been enjoying being vegan. I feel more happy about the food I am eating, and fulfilled that I am making a choice that isn’t harming animals or the environment. I know it has only been 20 days, but I don’t even crave animal products. It is strange, but I don’t feel any need or urge of any kind to go back.

I have always been an ice cream, cake, cookies person, but I have found myself craving less, or happy to make my own vegan creations. Also where I used to binge, and eat 5-6 cookies instead of 1-2, now I find myself more able to stop. Perhaps because my body is getting so much of what it needs that it doesn’t feel the need to crave things… or maybe my taste buds are changing. I don’t really know, but I know I am happy and feel good.

I am disappointed I haven’t lost any weight, because I definitely have some I could stand to lose, but I realized two days ago that I am simply eating too many calories– too much food. The past two days I started using fitness pal just to get an idea of how much I am eating and it has helped me make better choices.

Anyhoo, here is to 20 days! To many more vegan-iversaries in the future!

Leave a Reply

