Choco-Kale Smoothie Bowl

After the gym this morning (buh-bye 450 calories!), I decided to make another smoothie bowl because the last one was delicious. The result was this green beauty:

IMG_1686

I felt like I deserved it after completing the running workout at OrangeTheory, which was a run row combination that was both terrible and wonderful at the same time (Terrible because OW, and wonderful because endorphins). While on the weight floor the coach actually put a cone on my back while we were doing planks and told us if I dropped it we would start over. Not to brag, but like I basically saved the world today with my minute long plank. In other words, I DESERVED a little yum-yum in my life.

If you also deserve a little yum-yum in your life (I think that is getting vaguely creepy, and I will stop saying it now), then you can check out the recipe below.

Choco-Kale Smoothie Bowl Recipe

  • 3 handfuls spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup cashewgurt (or other non-dairy yogurt, preferably unsweetened)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 date, pitted
  • 1 TBSP almond butter
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup-1 cup almond milk unsweetened. (I’d start with 1/2 cup and up it if necessary to create desired thickness)

For lunch I made some purple potato, brown rice noodles and ate leftover coconut curry from last night. I thought it made for a colorful and delicious lunch.

IMG_1688

The recipe for the curry ramen came from Minimalist Baker, which is quickly becoming my favorite go to when I want a new recipe. I will admit that I didn’t precisely follow her version and instead used it as a kind of clean-out-my-fridge, free-for-all. In other words, my version also included celery, huge amounts of kale, a leek, and a half a cup of cannellini beans that I had, just you know, lying around). I am happy to report that the curry-miso combo was enough to make even my mish-mash taste delicious.

Which is why during a weak moment I may have ordered the Minimalist Baker cookbook.

1owpwdb

And yes, I looked exactly like the above picture when pressing the “submit order” button. Hot, I know.

Ending thoughts: I swear I am eating more delicious food now that I am vegan than I did before. I only hope I can keep this up when school is back in session. I believe I can-I believe I can.

Have a TUURRRIFIC Thursday!

Leave a Reply

