DAY TEN

Today is my vegan day ten-iversary.

w6aaa

Honestly, I am amazed at how seamless the process has been so far (**she said as she knocked on wood and hoped she didn’t curse herself).

Both J and I have managed to abstain, although he did admit a weak moment two nights ago when he started heading toward McDonalds and then managed to avoid it and go home instead. He said the craving started because of a commercial and it got me thinking about advertising. I don’t have cable, but I will say between hulu advertising and online advertising, I get why going vegan can be so hard.

Our bodies are addicted to this food and then we see it over and over again, presented in a fashion meant to make it look delicious, healthy and cool. Personally, I am having a hard time even finding meat appetizing after watching some of the stuff I have about animal cruelty, but even I had a moment of craving when I caught a Taco Bell ad.

I don’t think I could ever go back to meat or dairy after really understanding how that product got to the store, and I am going to be reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer, which (if what I’ve read is true) should be the last nail in the coffin that was my meat eating days.

6604712-_uy475_ss475_

I think J is feeling dedicated more for health reasons. He has lost five pounds, and said he is feeling all around better. I notice that too. My tummy is happier than it has been in a looooooong time, and my acne has actually cleared up, which is a completely unexpected plus that I can only guess must be related. Plus I just feel WAY less bloated.

I did splurge and eat some Oreo’s last night, which are apparently accidentally vegan, but they gave me a headache immediately. Not sure if it was the high amounts of sugar or what, but I will not be eating those again, especially because they do break my rule about processed foods and trying to do this whole vegan thing through whole foods.

Anyway, here is to our day ten vegan anniversary!!! I’ll be spinning into this Friday like Kevin Bacon (the only Bacon I am into).

kbs

Have a wonderful day!

 

2 comments

  1. trudi_bruges · July 10

    I first thought you meant 10 year anniversary 😉
    Enjoy the vegan journey, so much to discover 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

